Visiting Bri.

Over Christmas break I flew to San Francisco and made a visit to my friend Briana Blackwelder’s grave. Thank you for the great directions, Candice.

For those who haven’t yet visited, here’s a bit of the journey to Fernwood:

That’s her grave in the foreground.

A few small plants have begun sprouting over the freshly-turned earth.

Despite being the winter solstice, it was one of the sunniest days I’d seen in a long time.
I laid down right next to her grave and just started talking.
It felt so much like the last time I saw her, when we’d spent a sunny
April afternoon lounging under the sun.

I believe Bri is doing much more exciting things than lying under the earth,
but here are some photos of the view she’d have from her final resting place:

I felt a lot of peace being there.

Afterwards, my friend Lydia and I scouted out some delicious food
and soaked up the city that will forever remind me of Bri.

Man, I miss you Bri.

One Comment on “Visiting Bri.”

  1. Tess says:

    Thanks for posting photos, Ani. I’m glad you could visit her grave and her new town – so beautiful. It’s strange to think it has been 9 months.
    Ian wrote from Ecuador yesterday commenting on the 9 months of having his life extended. He is in Ibarra now.
    I miss you, Tess


Leave a Reply

