April Showers

Last night Mother Nature blessed me with an opportunity to pull out my new boots again so I could tromp through the unexpected ice storm. And, this morning I awoke to a charming winter wonderland:


I may be in the minority here, but I love when spring takes her time in fully enveloping us. It tempers my fear that time is moving too quickly, that irretrievable moments are just whizzing by me. Sporadic winter visits calm my heart right down. The vascillations between the two crossing seasons give me time to say a proper and thorough farewell to winter, while spreading out the excitement and anticipation of spring. One of my favorite things about living in a land of four seasons is this magical transition time, and I am grateful that this year the passage from winter to spring is taking its sweet time. To me, the snow storm this morning felt akin to getting a second day of Christmas.

I sang one of my favorite hymns as I admired the ephemeral buds and flowers topped with little mounds of geometric snowflakes:

Dear mother earth,
who day by day
Unfoldest blessings on our way,
O praise Her! Alleluia!
The flowers and fruits that in thee grow,
Let them Her glory also show.

O praise Her! O praise Her!
Alleluia! Alleluia! Alleluia!

2 Comments on “April Showers”

  1. Tess says:

    I totally relate to the feeling of wanting seasons to linger as well as move on to the next. How luck you got a last minute snow storm to help you feel like you had a good winter.
    I also love that hymn but have not heard it in a while. Thanks for the reminder 🙂

  2. Wendy says:

    I join you in the minority. I enjoy a surprising Spring snow shower. It helps that I know it will melt quickly though.


Leave a Reply

