In Celebration of International Women’s Day


I am proud to be a woman. I may have even overlooked this important holiday this year if a dear friend had not invited me to her beautiful ‘celebration of women.’ This international holiday is not widely observed in the US.  I learned that in the following countries March 8th is an official holiday which merits a day off (at least for employed women): China, Armenia, Russia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Bulgaria, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Macedonia, Moldova, Mongolia, Tajikistan, Ukraine, Uzbekistan and Vietnam, and it is a highly recognized holiday in dozens of other countries.

I will, unfortunately, be working all day. BUT, that will not keep me from celebrating the achievements of women past, present, and future. We have come a long way in this country, still American women make up only 2.5% of the world’s population. The majority of the world’s women (comprising half of the world’s population) do not enjoy the same basic rights and privileges I take for granted.

It is to them that I dedicate my thoughts and prayers this day.

I am indebted to a multitude of valiant and strong women.

Leave a Reply

